Ten Evenings

Zadie Smith

“I do feel comforted to discover I’m not the only person on this earth who has no idea what life is for, nor what is to be done with all this time aside from filling it.”

Zadie Smith, Intimations

Based on historical events, The Fraud is a dazzling novel about truth and fiction, Jamaica and Britain, fraudulence and authenticity, and the mystery of “other people.” Set against the legal trial that divided Victorian England, The Fraud explores issues of justice, slavery, abolitionism, and class, and highlights the disparities of who deserves to tell their story—and who deserves to be believed.

Zadie Smith is the author of the novels White Teeth, The Autograph Man, On Beauty, NW, and Swing Time; as well as a novella, The Embassy of Cambodia; three collections of essays, Changing My Mind, Feel Free, and Intimations; a collection of short stories, Grand Union; and the play, The Wife of Willesden, adapted from Chaucer. She is the winner of the Guardian First Book Award, the Whitbread First Novel Award, the Orange Prize for Fiction, and the National Book Critics Circle Award for Criticism, among others.

More about Zadie Smith

Literary Hub, March 2, 2023

Attention: a new Zadie Smith novel is coming this fall.

The Times, April 9, 2022

My culture fix: Zadie Smith

The New York Times Style Magazine, October 17, 2016

The Pieces of Zadie Smith

“Smith does more than illuminate what we’re going through right now. She offers a model of how to think ourselves through a fraught historical moment without getting hysterical or sanctimonious, without losing our compassion or our appreciation for what’s good in other people. She teaches us how to be better at being human.”



Pre-order The Fraud from White Whale Bookstore, where you may also purchase additional titles by Zadie Smith.


Monday, September 18, 2023 at 7:30 p.m. ET




Carnegie Library Lecture Hall
4400 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, 15213


Upcoming Lectures

Christian Cooper

JUN 15

Emily Kline


Leon Ford


Idra Novey